Make Me Up!

Guess who’s going to start dabbling into makeup?! Yes, me! I’m not a “New Years’ Resolution type-of-chick,” but my (typical) quarterly re-evaluation and reinvention of myself fell on around the first of the year, just a couple of days before my 28th birthday. A couple of things on my list for personal reinvention is that I decided to 1) change my hairstyles more often and 2) learn the art of makeup. Not my usual eyeliner and lip paint–but more purposeful makeup! I am 28 years old now. I am a mother, a lover, and a professional. I am grown a@% woman now, and I am embracing it as such.

Now I have never had anything against makeup and those who wear them, and I definitely have not been trying to make a statement by not wearing more than eyeliner, lip colors, and occasional shadows. The reason I usually go makeup-free is mostly because I have sensitive skin and because I have always believed in “natural” beauty. Which I still do, let’s not get it twisted. But as I’ve met so many beauties since I’ve entered the blogging world, I have grown to admire their gorgeous makeup! And you can still see their natural beauty shining through. They just walk around looking like they have perfect lighting at all times! LOL!

For this week of wearing makeup, I wanted to embrace that highlight glow. The only problem was, I wasn’t really sure where to begin. So I decided to head to MAC! I wandered the aisles looking totally lost, until, finally, my half-intrigued, half-excited look prompted one of the makeup artists to approach me. After I explained to her what I was doing, she was super excited to help me, and ended up giving me a mini-tutorial on how to highlight my cheekbones! I loved how she did it. She asked me what I wanted and did not want. I told her that I am adamant about not wearing foundation. She sort of winced. She insisted that foundation was necessary for “blending” but I told her I’m okay with seeing how it works without foundation. She did one side with cream high light and blush because she thought it would blend better with my bare skin, even though I asked for powder. She did powder on the other side so I could compare. She also brought their Fix + which made the powder blend in beautifully with my skin. I preferred the powder better and she agreed that the powder looked better than she even thought it would without foundation. As she applied the highlight and blush she showed me every step and the best brush to use. (Side note: Although steep in price, I love the fact that their brushes are hand tied and all natural bristles. I heard they last for several years.) Then she let me do the other side while she watched.

After that, I mentioned to her how I wanted those perfectly painted lips. She told me, once again, that foundation was key to creating that scarily perfect look between the lips and the face. However, she neatly lined my lips with one of their lip pencils and blended in the lip paint I already had on. Baby!!! I’m a believer in their lip pencils now! It is worth every penny of $16! Nothing like the beauty supply store pencils. It went on smooth and rich and lasted the rest of the day!

Needless to say, though I spent a good amount of money on four items, I also left with a look to try and emulate each morning for the next few days. My next goal is to invest in one of those acrylic makeup organizers (the organizer-junkie in me can’t help it!), research and purchase a few more brushes, and learn more tricks with my eye makeup besides the usual eyeliner wing.
I’m starting to see that makeup is fun and a way of expressing yourself!

See below for my mini MAC haul:
MAC Prep + Prime Fix+
MAC Brush 109 (Small Contour Brush)
MAC Lip Pencil in Nightmoth
MAC Mineralize in Global Glow as my highlight



 

Tell me what you think. Please share your fav makeup and any suggestions you have as well! I look forward to hearing from you!

 

 

5 comments

  1. Help!! Lol. I want to start wearing a little bit of make-up and change my hair up also.

    Now the only problem is my fiancé is not into the make-up thing. He just like the eye liner and lipsticks. That’s it! Do you have any suggestions?

    1. Yeah I understand that. My boyfriend says he’s cool as long as it’s not crazy and I’m the same way anyway–I don’t want to be unrecognizable LOL! I think that translucent powder makes a clean non-greasy face especially in the summer (if you get oily like me). There’s a hypoallergenic one I use occasionally that’s cheap as well by NYC. You can find it at Walmart. I like that it’s not colored.

      I also suggest keeping your brows bomb 24/7. So keeping it cleaned up. I have thick eyebrows so I try to keep them threaded ever other week. Nothing crazy; just perfectly shaped. And if you have thinner brows, learn how to fill them in and shape them perfectly. I like natural, not that new age weird faded thing ppl are doing now. But to each her own.

      Also, focus on perfect lips. So invest in great liners like the one I mentioned from MAC. I’m now a believer that good liners are worth it. There’s a big difference between the $1 ones and one like the one from MAC. Then find really nice lipsticks and paints. Those don’t have to be from MAC. My favorite paint right now lasts as long as MAC And is highly pigmented but only costs $2.99 from the beauty supply store. It’s called Glazed Lip Paint. Learn the different techniques like the perfect ombré lips. Invest in different colors.

      Last, occasionally put on light blush and a natural colored eye shadow. If you’re feeling really fun, see about the highlight I mentioned. I’ve been putting that on with a little bit of blush and it looks natural but gives me that added umph than my usual.

      Sorry to ramble, but I’ll summarize:
      1. Perfect, natural eyebrows
      2. A few nice lip liners and a few new and different colors (nothing crazy). Learn how to perfectly line and fill in lips. Get a small lip brush. I’ve learned in the past couple of weeks that lip brushes give you so much control in application of the lip paint and blending with liners.
      3. Light blush (and natural glowy highlighter).
      4. Translucent powder esp in summer if you have oily skin.

      Hope it helps! I’m loving playing around with makeup. Keeping it natural, but more “grown woman.” LOL

      1. Yay! I’m glad! You’re welcome, Hunny!!! …& since we’re journeying in this “embrace makeup” thing together, if you come across anything you learn please share!!!!

      2. Oh yeah, as far as hair. I work a side job, so I’m just planning on buying more affordable weaves and creating different styles wigs. I’m hoping to do this at least once a month. Last month I just bought a curly ponytail fur tried to style it in a more natural non-wiggy look by putting it in a bun. This month I bought a straight, dark, mid-length wig.

Leave a comment